Harlots Parlour

The Sex Industry Blog – For Media Enquiries please call us on 020 7175 0180 or email dearharlot@gmail.com

Researcher looking for Interview Partners on Sex Workers Rights.

A few weeks ago I was interviewed by Eva Klambauer, a Phd student doing research on the relationship between sex work and sex worker rights activism. During the interview we discussed my personal activism for the IUSW and for the Harlots Collective. We spoke about my thoughts on sex worker activism in general and about how the I felt the present legal situation here in the UK and other places negatively affected the safety of sex workers. We also discussed how I thought the law could be changed to make sex work not only safer but also a better environment in which to work. It was a pleasant and informative conversation and I would urge anyone with any experience of sex worker activism or with an interest in changing sex work legislation to contact Eva and contribute to her research.

Douglas.

Eva Klambauer’s contact details are listed below. 

I am a PhD student at King’s College London conducting research on the relationship between the regulation of sex work and sex workers’ rights activism. My interest is in the impact of the laws on the living and working conditions of sex workers, what sex workers think about the laws and in what ways they would like them to be changed. Furthermore, I want to find out more about sex worker rights activism and everyday forms of resistance. I am investigating the policy-making process of laws that regulate the sex industry and the impact of sex workers’ rights activism on policy makers and the public debate. To understand the relationship between the legal framework and activism, I am comparing the United Kingdom with New South Wales in Australia, where the sex industry has largely been decriminalised.

I am looking for interested active sex workers as well as people with previous experience in the sex industry in the UK. I would like to conduct interviews in person, on skype or by phone to ask about your opinions of the current laws that regulate the sex industry and what kind of changes, if any, you would like to see. If you have taken part in any protest events or any form of political activism (this is not a requirement to participate), I would invite you to tell me more about that as well.

I want to use my research to work towards better laws and rights for sex workers and would like to learn from sex workers about how the law could be improved. Please have a look at this blog as it will give you more information about the project and get in touch if you are interested or have any questions

(eva.klambauer@kcl.ac.uk).

https://resistanceandchange.wordpress.com/

Thank you!
Eva Klambauer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 22 September, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
