Harlots Parlour

The Sex Industry Blog – For Media Enquiries please call us on 020 7175 0180 or email dearharlot@gmail.com

REQUEST FROM JOURNALIST

Dear Readers of Harlots,

I received this request from a Journalist (below). If anyone can help or perhaps would like to post this request on other lists/forums, please do.

You can email Rachael directly at:
rachelrabbitwhite@gmail.com

Thank You.

Douglas

Dear HP,

First I would like to commend you on your fantastic work. I found you through Sex Gender Body, where I am a contributor.

I am writing you about a story I am creating, in hopes that you might have some leads. It’s a journalism project about the clientele of sex workers. I am currently looking to interview men, women and people of all genders who have experience visiting sex-workers. I would also like to interview sex worker historians or researchers. I will of course, protect identities. I am hoping you can re-post this call, or direct me in finding interview subjects. I would also like to talk about maybe interviewing one of both of you as experts for this piece as well.

Here are the details about the project. Please, please, feel free to pass this along.

About the Article: Stories about sex-work seems to always focus on the sex
worker. Even in sex-positive circles, talking about “john’s” can elicit a
collective cringe. Is it because we don’t get the sex worker clientele’s side of
the story– how they think and feel, how sex workers help them?
This is the story I want to tell through in depth interviews with some
clientele of sex workers..” I would like to represent as varied an experience as
possible. This is going to be a very in depth article or series of articles
which will run on Alternet.org.

About the Writer: “As a sex-positive, sex-journalist I work to shatter fears,
stereotypes and defenses around sex (kinks included.) I find the veritable
rainbow of consensual sex among adults valuable, and think there is a lot we can
all learn from exploring that spectrum. As a sex-positive person my tone is
never judgmental or snarky. My goal is for the readers to become more accepting
of sexuality and to get curious about the world around them. I’ll be covering
things outside the norm but the idea isn’t to present a novel sex act in order
to entertain or shock. The idea is to challenge the way we think about sex,
intimacy and relationships. To incite thought on the topic of sex.”

Thanks so much.
Rachel Rabbit White
http://www.rabbitwrite.com

About Douglas Fox

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 27 August, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
